Friday, 21 November 2008

William S Burroughs DEAD CITY RADIO

This is what Burroughs asks in his opening statement. Do we really know why we're here? This recording of Burroughs narrating his own work is truly monumental...Burroughs strips off the thin verneer of culture to expose the maggoty underbelly!
His objective is no less than a basic disruption of reality itself. This is art as magic, artist as magician...A somnambulant, mood-swifting mindtrip into the world of William S. Burroughs... and what better than to hear arrousing and exciting tales of moral decadence, science fiction atroscities, the convictions of racism and prejudice, flowing dream imagery, political ideas & warnings, and frequent contradictions resulting in poetic tales that defy explanation and expand yr. conciousness. After being told in his deadpan spooky and signature voice to tape, they are adapted to an eclectic arrangement of classical orchestra, John Cale's keyboard weirdness, Sonic Youth's cataclysimc subway noise, and various other contributions that work well with the stories...

1. Williams Welcome (What Are You Here For?)
2. A Thanksgiving Prayer
3. Naked Lunch Excerpts (You Got Any Eggs For Fats?)/Dinner Conversation (The Snakes)
4. Ah Pook The Destroyer/Brion Gysin's All-Purpose Bedtime Story
5. After-Diner Conversation (An Atrocious Conceit)/Where He Was Going
6. Kill The Badger!
7. A New Standard By Which To Measure Infamy
8. The Sermon On The Mount 1 (WSB Reads The Good Book)
9. No More Stalins, No More Hitlers
10. The Sermon On The Mount 2
11. Scandal At The Jungle Hiltons
12. The Sermon On The Mount 3
13. Love Your Enemies
14. Dr. Benway's House
15. Apocalypse
16. The Lord's Prayer
17. Ich Bin Von Kopf Bis Fuss Auf Liebe Eingestellt (Falling In Love Again)

shanti roy has uploaded
Nothing is True, Everything is Permitted - A Something Else Production for BBC Radio 4 here

No comments: